27 November 2013


Chinese 72-hour Transit Visa Exemption for Canadians

Canadian citizens can acquire a 72-hour visa free transit in Beijing and Shanghai and Guangzhou airports only. The visa-free travel is only offered to passengers who are transiting China on their way to another/third country (not Canada), and will be staying in Beijing or Shanghai or Guangzhou only. You must fly in and out of the same city. You cannot go to any other city.

There are 3 requirements:
1) You must be a Citizens from one of the 45 countries in the 72-hour Transit Visa Exemption Program;
2) You must be a foreign national with a valid international traveling document and air ticket for a connecting flight with confirmed date of flight and seat for a third country or region traveling within 72 hours; and
3) You must be flying into and out of the Capital Airport of Beijing or Pudong or Hongqiao Airports of Shanghai or Guangzhou to a third country or region.

This applies to Canadians and the following nationalities: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland; Russia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania and Ukraine; United States, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, and Chile; Australia, and New Zealand; Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, and Qatar.

The Chinese Embassy in Ottawa states "Foreigners who have confirmed onward tickets and seats on international flights and directly transit through China and stay for no more than 24 hours within the airport boundaries shall not need to apply for a transit visa".

Click here for Chinese visa forms.