04 April 2019

Sri Lanka is Going Visa-Free

The Government of Sri Lanka has announced that it is about to implement a visa-free policy for Canadian citizens.

Starting Wednesday 01 May 2019 Canadian citizens with Canadian passports will be able to enter Sri Lanka visa-free for up to 30 days.

This is an experimental pilot project lasting six months, followed by Sri Lanka deciding whether or not to continue the new visa-free regime.

It is not just Canadians, but all EU citizens and South Korea and the USA, which will benefit from this new scheme.

Be warned - until 01 May 2019 you will still need an ETA to board an aircraft to Sri Lanka.

Click here for a Sri Lankan ETA visa.